Go Outside.

I’m going to admit that I won’t really be taking my own advice and going outside today, but let me explain.

A few months ago I saw this photo:

Image

 

I liked what it said, I thought it was a good idea, but I am terrible for putting my phone down, and leaving it down. I hate to admit the fact that I am fully obsessed with my iPhone, but I am, and I am trying to change that.

This morning I deactivated my facebook, it won’t be permanent and I know that, but I am trying to break the habit of checking it every few seconds. If I don’t have facebook, I am a little less likely to pick up my phone. 

I kept telling myself, “This summer, I’ll deactivate my facebook for the whole summer!” and I kept telling other’s “Yeah, when the weather gets warmer, I’m getting rid of facebook, I’m going to enjoy my summer without it!” Well, that’s crap honestly. Why do I need to wait until the weather gets warmed to get rid of facebook? I only have it because it is amusing (sometimes..most of the time it’s just annoying), there are a million other ways for me to keep myself amused. 

Here’s a list so if one day I come back and say I’m bored, I won’t have an excuse:

1. Clean my room (this will always be at the top of my list because my room is always a mess)

2. Read a book

3. Practice my knitting/crocheting skills

4. Ride my bike

5. Walk Toby (Toby is my dog, he’s a Mini-Sharpei and I’m obsessed with him)

6. Play a board game with my family

7. Go for a drive

8. Write in my journal

9. Do yoga

10. Go for a run

 

There are a hundred other things I could do, make a garden, paint something, clean my car. The list goes on and on. 

Honestly, I had a bit of a hard time finding things to make that list that I thought would be fun. I have a lot of interests, but I don’t do a lot of stuff. That’s my goal, to find more things that I find fun. 

So here’s to day 1 of no facebook, let’s see how long I can hold out! 

Go enjoy the last bit of your weekend, folks. 

 

-Emily

Leave a comment